Events Calendar


Governor Bullock Recipient of 2021 MMA Award of Merit; Physician Leaders Recognized at Annual Meeting:

The Montana Medical Association (MMA) today announced Governor Steve Bullock as the recipient of the 2021 Award of Merit and awarded two physicians for their significant contributions to improving health care in the state of Montana.


Montana Health Care Leadership Program Graduates 2021 Class; Recruitment open for 2022:

The Montana Medical Association (MMA) announced today that 11 health care professionals graduated from the 2021 Healthcare Excellence in Leadership Program (HELP) on Saturday, September 18.


Medical and Nursing Community of Montana Unites to Urge Vaccination, Masking as COVID-19 Cases Rise Statewide:

Montana medical and nursing organizations representing thousands of health care practitioners across the state united to urge Montanans to protect themselves and their communities by getting vaccinated and wearing a mask as COVID-19 cases continue to r  

MMA Files Suit to Protect Montana Physician Offices, Fight for the Safety of Patients:

The Montana Medical Association along with other organizations and individuals, filed suit in Missoula Federal District Court on September 22, 2021, challenging House Bill 702 as it applies to Montana’s physicians and hospitals.


Montana Medical Association Selects Leadership for 2021/2022:

The Montana Medical Association (MMA) announced today that its Board of Trustees has selected a new slate of officers to lead the Association through September 2022, with Carley C. Robertson, M.D., a general practice physician from Havre, taking the he  

Medical and Nursing Community of Montana Issues Statement Following Announcement of DPHHS Emergency Rule on Masking in Schools :

The medical and nursing community of Montana stands behind the clear research and science showing the widespread use of masks in schools can effectively reduce COVID-19 transmission as part of a layered public health approach to provide a safe learning  

Montana Medical Association Foundation Selects Officers for 2021/2022:

The Montana Medical Association Foundation announced today that its Board has selected a new slate of officers to lead the Foundation through August 2022, with William S. Gallea, M.D., a Lewistown emergency medicine physician, taking the helm as Presid  

Physician Leadership Program Documents


MMA Physician Leadership Effectiveness Program Documents:

2013-2014 Session Materials:   

Session 1:

Session 2:

Session 3:

Session 4:


Session 5:

Session 6:

Session 7:

Physicians Participating in the Physician Leadership Program 2013-2014

John Andenoro, M.D., Urology Associates, Kalispell
Michael Brown, M.D., Yellowstone Pathology, Billings
Nicole Clark, M.D., St. Peter's Hospital, Helena
Scott Dull, M.D., Billings Clinic, Billings
Jay Erickson, M.D., Montana WWAMI Clinical Dean, Whitefish 
Shaun Gillis, M.D., Bozeman Deaconess Hospital, Bozeman
Jonathan Griffin, M.D., St. Peter's Hospital, Helena
Robert Hart, D.O., Western Montana Clinic, Missoula
Melissa Hulvat, M.D., Kalispell Regional Medical Center, Kalispell
Bobby Maynard, M.D., Great Falls Clinic, Great Falls 
Kevin Maxwell, M.D., Glendive Medical Center, Glendive
Marc Mentel, D.O., Community Medical Center, Missoula
Al Olszewski,  M.D., North Valley Hospital, Whitefish
Richard Popwell, M.D., Bozeman Deaconess Hospital, Bozeman
J. Bruce Robertson, M.D., Bozeman Deaconess Hospital, Bozeman
Jon Robinson, M.D., Bridger Orthopedic, Bozeman
Laura Shelton, M.D., Providence, Florence
Bonnie Stephens, M.D., Community Medical Center, Missoula
Stephen Tahta, M.D., Community Medical Center, Missoula
Michael Vlases, M.D., Bozeman Deaconess Hospital, Bozeman
John D. Williams, M.D., St. Lukes Community Healthcare, Polson